I blogged about this here and the subsequent cashing in of the situation by Ikea here

The couple have been identified as a Swedish chappie, 21 years old and the “Japanese looking woman” is actually a Singaporean, aged 24. Her name is Eng Kai Er. I’m not going to write a lot about her here as you can Google them and find all the bashing going on. It didn’t help that she is an A*star scholar.

You know, I’ve done a lot of things I have not been proud of and especially in my twenties, could have gotten arrested for some of them. I do believe all of us are living on borrowed time and are lucky to have gotten away with stuff.

I saw pictures of Eng Kai Er going into the courts. She was trying to hide her face. Obviously embarassed and presumably not proud of what she has done.

eng-kai-er

She’ll have to suffer the consequences of what she has done. Don’t make it any more difficult for her 🙂

For me, I personally would like to give her the benefit of the doubt and say yes, while she did a stupid thing, I believe she would have learned from it and will use this experience positively. 

So yeah, let’s show some compassion. And even if you don’t want to (which I understand), don’t bash her too hard. 

I still would like to know though, what went into their minds just before they did that. Most curious indeed.